The legislative authority of the Vanderbilt Student Government is housed in the Undergraduate Senate. Composed of 27 voting Senators from every undergraduate school and residential area, the Undergraduate Senate serves to express the voice of the student body on issues of University, state, and national importance. Senators are elected to a one-year term beginning in September of every school year and serving through May of that year. The Senate meets bi-weekly, with the calendar being published at the beginning of each Fall and Spring semester. Meetings are free and open to the public.

The Senate elects their own membership in the form of a Speaker of the Senate at the end of the Spring, and a Deputy Speaker of the Senate in the Fall. Currently, the Senate is chaired by Speaker Sean Swinford, who previously served as North House Senator followed by Arts & Science College Senator. Branscomb Senator Josh Allen serves as the Deputy Speaker of the Senate.

Spring 2019 Senate Schedule

January 16 | 7-9 PM | SLC Board of Trust
January 30 | 7-9 PM | SLC Board of Trust
February 13 | 7-9 PM | SLC Board of Trust
February 27 | 7-9 PM | SLC Board of Trust
March 13 | 7-9 PM | Alumni Classroom
April 3 | 7-9 PM | SLC Board of Trust
April 17 | 7-9 PM | Alumni Classroom

The Senators

Academic Senators

Arts and Science
Sharonda Adams
Tam Wheat

Blair School of Music
Ben Ellenbogen

Jasper Lu

Kate Petosa

First-Year Senators

Taylor Grant

Hannah Bruns

Tyger Quarles

Hank Ingram
Rob Lusk

Jacob Schroeder

Will Fritzler

Upperclass Residential Senators

Alumni Lawn
Foster Swartz
Marty Grady

Josh Allen
Ellie Ward

Shazeib Cheema

Mary Tezak

Kayla Folz

Carmichael Towers I & II
Kavita Kakkar
Anesha Nadella

Carmichael Towers III & IV
Minnie Manfangas

E Bronson Ingram College
Chris Marcus

Moore College
Syed Rahman

Warren College
Ryan Brown

Off Campus Housing
Abdirahman Osman

Blakemore/Greek Housing
Amira Vivrette

Legislative Agendas